“Erin Go Bragh” Part 2

 

St Patrick’s Day 2015 and I’ve made it so far. I’ve made it so far without falling into the annual chasm of depression. I have had some low days, but not nearly as bad as years past. Perhaps the fact that I am in Australia and the St Patrick’s day shenanigans are more muted here than in the US. The glitter green is not as much in my face as it would have been in Tennessee.

Mostly I am attributing this relatively successful year to Taylor Swift, Meghan Trainor, Veronica Maggio, and Tove Lo. Thanks, ladies. I have had CDs on repeat in my car and Ipod playlists running through my ears (especially at night) to help keep my mind off of my own malfunction. For me, music is one of the best depression beaters because it helps you feel. Happy and upbeat is of course the sound to make yourself listen to if you need to pull out of a low place, but I find also listening to mildly sad or melancholy songs help me to feel control over the low moods sometimes.

I have also previously mentioned that there has been a young man that confided his depression to me a month or so ago. This particular situation has also given me something specific to focus my thoughts on. I don’t want him feeling the way I tend to this time of year. I’ve been able to make myself available for him and give him the listening ear, among other things, and we have been able to help each other cope so far.

I still blame myself for the events that happened in 2008 that lead to this annual depressing period for me… The blaming of myself is probably the main reason I even get in this mood, but you know what? I can’t say I’m blame free, cuz I’m not… but this year I just wanna say: David. You Suck.

(for those of you that don’t know Swedish – which would be the majority, I know… I will translate the chorus Veronica and Håkan are singing and then you’ll know why this song is a good one for me: )

“Everything is good now

Go around in a T-Shirt and am tired

Sit on the Piano among bottles, glasses, and cigarette butts

Close my eyes until I glimpse happiness and I know everything is good now”

Leave a Reply

