kids, memories

Eeek! A mouse!

I have been super busy the past few days… an issue kind of blew up at work so I haven’t had much time to write the quality post I was promising. I do have a short story to tell you, however. This incident happened two nights ago.

I was sleeping soundly when all of a sudden at just after 3 AM my husband sat up in bed and said “Rachel! Get up!” He then turned on the light and was looking around the bed and under my pillows etc. Then he said he had been laying with his blanket over his head, as usual, when he felt a mouse run across his head, over the blanket. He then proceeded to get up and go put some mouse traps around the bed.

The story I told the kids last night, however; was this:

“Guess what happened last night, kids!”

“What? What?” They clamored at me.

“Last night a MOUSE ran across Daddy’s FACE!”

The kids started giggling.

“Then Daddy got up and jumped up and down on the bed and said ‘EEEEeeeeeeeeeek!!! A Mouse on my FACE! Save me, save me!'” Using my best high pitched imitation.

Grinning wide my three year old said “Daddy screamed!!” and then both of them started laughing again.

My husband then said, referring to my three year old, “At least he apparently thinks screaming is for scaring them away… not because I’m scared of them!” (Then told me a story about last week when he saw a bird in the hardware store and my son had told my husband “There’s a bird, Daddy. I’m gonna scream at it go away… AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!”)

2 thoughts on “Eeek! A mouse!”

Leave a Reply

