A Ding, a Glance… a Message

 

Woke up this morning not expecting the day to contain anything extraordinary, yet there it was staring at me from my phone. A ding, a glance… a message. Now, I know what you are thinking – “A message? What’s so extraordinary about a message on your phone?”

Thank you for asking, I will explain further.

It was a Facebook message from a lady that I know in passing, but we are little more than friendly acquaintances. We are not Facebook friends, so she must have messaged me through a mutual community page we follow.

Her message was unexpected, poignant, and personal. It made me feel good and a little sad all at the same time. So I am going to share what she had to say:

“Enjoyed your book. I’ve been through similar things in my life too. I don’t usually talk about it, but it’s the reason I am the way that I am. Usually reserved as well. I was molested when I was small from a friend which still affects me today. Also had a rape relationship with an older man when I was 16, I was depressed and nearly committed suicide. A lot of what you wrote I could see myself. Anyways just a brief blah blah blah. But thank you. Reading that just made me feel I’m not the only one. And yes it does affect the way you are with relationships later in life. Thank you, Rae.”

No, Thank YOU. It is sad to know that there are other women that have gone through similar things as what she refers to, it’s not like I didn’t know that of course… but still… to find out another’s story can still break your heart a little anyway. Especially when you hear it from someone you actually know.

On the other hand, I am so so glad that my writing has touched someone. I am glad that there is at least one person who can relate and feels the need to thank me. That makes this whole project worth it.

2 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Coffee Thoughts and More and commented:
    From a blog a follow, and the first liked I received. Sometimes messages can touch every bit of our nervous system. Certain messages give us all sorts of emotions and feelings transmitted through our body. Me for example, i get chills when I receive certain messages…

    Like

Leave a Reply

