So Cool, eller?

A couple days ago, Maja posted a couple of old pics on facebook she found of herself, Svea, and me. I am about to share one of myself that absolutely proves I was the epitome of cool perhaps not a complete dork back in the early 2000s. Last year she posted another pic from this same night and I noticed nothing extraordinary then… because that picture cut off at mid thigh. My friends, please don’t judge me too harshly when you see this- a picture from February 16, 2001 (Maja’s 18th birthday): 

11263784_10155662540230195_1934716333_n

Yes. That is me wearing pants under a skirt. Denim on denim no less. (And that is Svea sitting next to me, of which I cropped out to save her dignity from being seen and further associated with my past fashion choices.) “Am I wearing my ripped jeans under my denim skirt???? Wow, FASHIONABLE, eller??” I commented on her post.

After trying to think of some justification for my reasoning for this choice of garment, I then wrote “…Maybe I was just trying to be decent while at your aunt’s house, Maja, since I had that big rip under the butt?? At least that’s what my excuse is for wearing such a get up!

Ever the reassuring best friend, Maja replied “Haha honestly I think skirt+pants was the height of fashion back then. I had  pants under mine too… Black lace ones with nude fabric under do you remember?

Ah. yes. I do recall now that it was a legitimate trend back then. But also, to be fair…it was also February in Stockholm… how else would we have been able to wear skirts without freezing our *ahem* butt cheeks off? Those particular jeans were my favorite – and no kidding there was a rip from seam to seam directly under my left buttock. Sexy, yeah?

Either way, I scoured the internet googled until I got bored to find definitive proof that a picture of me wearing skirt and pants combo (and denim on denim) means I actually was cool, hip, trendy… stylish. I ignored the pictures of Britney Spears and Justin Timberlake… and found THIS. THIS obviously PROVES that I was the epitome of cool.perhaps not a complete dork. …somewhat normal back then. Notice the brunette wears a skirt over pants for a significant portion of the video. I would also like to mention that Amit Paul (the brown haired boy) attended Kungsholmen when I was there… my youngest sister had a near obsession with A*Teens and told ALL her friends he went to my school LOL.

7 Comments

  1. Hahaha i promise we where vey much “in” and “cool” with out pants skirts 😂😘 just to point out, it was my 18th birthday. It was the night when the batshitcrazylady finaly let me out of the house to go out to a club, and the monkey bar night with the Rickard incident…

    Like

  2. Hahah I assure you that we were very cool and “in” with our pants skirts! However it was my 18th birthday. It was the night that the batshitcrazylady finally let me go out clubbing and also it was the infamous monkey bar and Rickard incident night. And the first time I kissed a girl… And also got into a fight with a drunk dude over said girl 👆👆👆👆 ehem ehem! ( maybe it was a good thing I wasn’t let out the house so much considering the outcome if the evening 😂😂😂)
    Much Love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I remember the night and 18 bday… Did I write the wrong age? I said 19 didn’t I? Whoops, I’ll edit when I get to a computer! …I kissed a girl and I liked it. …hmmm hmm hmmm hmmm. Thanks. Now I have that song in my head!! 😉 PS in case I haven’t told you lately … Thanks for saving my life that night!

      Like

  3. Pingback: When Maja “Saved my life” | I Will Not Live in Vain

Leave a Reply

