Uncategorized

A moment of criticism for “Dear Future…”

future husband

I guess I’m in a sour mood. Fair warning, so if you stop reading now, I won’t blame you.

Maybe it’s just me, I’m sure it’s just me, but I strongly dislike when people write (or even sing *ahem* Meghan Trainor *cough*) to their future husband. Their future anything, really. I was just on the reader and came across a “Dear Future Husband” post and my current sour disposition ensured that I scrolled right past it because I don’t have the patience for that crap right now.

Most of the time these communications are hopeful and upbeat… and read future disappointment all over them. At least with the whole writing to the past, you can utilize hindsight and learned wisdom to pretend like you could somehow influence yourself – and at the very least it can be a tool to influence or teach other people younger than you.

The future doesn’t give a crap to receive a letter from you. It is not going to influence which direction the future will decide to go in. I’ll bet you $10 if you wrote a Dear Future Husband letter and then found it years later after you are married and showed it to the real deal he would feel like shit, because likely he wouldn’t match up to your expectations.

Dear future husband,

You’re going to be wonderful. We will not have problems because you are going to be everything I currently want in a man. You will treat me like a princess and everything will go my way…. You will share my exact passions, politics, and religious outlook…

Dear future husband,

If you wanna get that special lovin’
Tell me I’m beautiful each and every night

After every fight
Just apologize
And maybe then I’ll let you try and rock my body right
Even if I was wrong
You know I’m never wrong…

Oh, oops. Fell into some of Meghan’s lyrics there.

Are you freaking kidding me with this? You are in for a rude awakening, hun. Marriage is no picnic with sunshine and roses, and no matter what you think, the odds of you finding a man that fit a certain criteria that you have come up with on a whim is very low.

Of course you should have some standards and non-negotiables… but select those carefully and keep the list small. Otherwise you are chasing an impossible dream and you will be sorely disappointed… and I will have no patience for you.
5 thoughts on “A moment of criticism for “Dear Future…””

    1. that’s always an option, I suppose. LOL I think we probably all know at least one person like that… and then they either stay single for a very long time because they can’t find their dream man, or they are disappointed when they settle. I tell you what, my hubby was nothing like I expected and actually told him he wasn’t my type!! He luckily convinced me to give it a casual go with him and the rest is history. Where would I be if I had stuck to some made up list in my mind?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

