Once a Victim, Now a Survivor

I woke up to a notification that I had been nominated for another award – what a pleasant surprise! Thank you New Age Maiden 🙂 This Award is called “Once a Victim, Now a Survivor.” …I guess now that I have more than one of these under my belt, I should figure out how to post them on my sidebar or something LOL

once-a-victim-now-a-survivor-award

This award is for those who have gone through mental illness of any kind, abuse, trauma, and especially PTSD. Here are the rules:

1.Thank the blogger that nominated you.

2.Nominate 5 – 10 bloggers to pass the award to.

3.Post questions for your nominees to answer (You may use the same as these below)

4.Inform your nominees and post a comment in their blog to let them know they’ve been nominated.

*I’m not sure if I realize how many bloggers I know/follow would fit into this criteria, but I am going to give it a go and try to come up with at least five. It’s tough because I don’t follow many people that have these issues – or at least if they do, it’s not prominant on their blog. I know I have some followers that do, so I will see if I can remember what I’ve read before….

My nominees for this award are:

Ironic that just last night I read a couple posts to do with Scorpion Stings’ PTSD experience….

Daniheart21 – a blogger I’ve been chatting with on Stories That Must Not Die

Moxieluster

The Rattling Bones

and… Thoughts of a Depressed Person

Sorry, having some technical difficulties with the hyperlinks. My browser on this computer sucks… Check them out at these links:

https://scorpionstings89.wordpress.com/2015/04/24/so-i-shot-him-continued/

https://aheartonthematter.wordpress.com/

https://moxieluster.wordpress.com/

https://therattlingbones.wordpress.com/who-is-lori-carlson/

https://thoughtsofadepressedperson.wordpress.com/

Here are the questions for my nominees. Feel free to skip any questions that you want to. You can fill in your own questions as you feel appropriate.

1.What part does blogging play in your healing process?

2.What do you feel was/is your best resource in your journey to getting better?

3.Would you recommend blogging to someone who suffered from mental illness/PTSD? Why?

My answers to New Age Maiden’s Questions:

1.What does blogging mean to you?

Blogging is an outlet, but it’s not so much the blogging as it is the writing itself. I could do that anywhere. But it’s been a pleasant experience so far making connections with the blogging community and not only getting my own writing out there – being read – but also getting to read other people’s writing. It means making connections. It means laughter; it means support. After all, we are all just stories in the end.

2.How has blogging changed how you view life?

Again, it’s not so much the blogging aspect as the writing aspect. I don’t know that my view on life has necessarily changed, but writing is how I first let my story out. I had never told anyone about my abusive ex before September of 2014 (16 years after the fact) – the first outlet I had was to write it down. I just wrote it down. I felt a catharisis…. it was the start on the road to healing. It was a process to work up from writing it down (and letting people read it when I wasn’t there) to actually talking about it, and eventually – as now – being able to share it with strangers. Blogging is about our stories, and I guess now even though I knew this logically before: it’s easier to recognise that other people have their own stories to tell. Tell your story, listen to another’s.

3.Why would you recommend blogging to someone who suffered from mental illness?

Write it down. Just write it down. The release you can feel is extraordinary. It doesn’t have to be technically good; it just needs to be OUT. …and once you get it out you can work up to sharing your story and, for me, that makes me feel as though I am healed or almost there… to tell your story without crying or breaking down – or having any other reaction that is usually a part of it for you – means you are truely on your way to healing.

13 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination. I’ve won many awards for my blog, but this one holds such a special place for me because it is about the mental illness and abuse and the fact that indeed, I am a survivor… thank you so much! And I thoroughly enjoyed your answers.. it really is about the writing and telling our stories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

