Husband, relationships, Uncategorized

Sweet pea

When we we first together – first married – my husband used to call me “Sweet pea.” There was something charming in the way his southern twang said that word, it made me feel special.

Then we got a mini red dachshund and named her Sweet pea… it seemed fitting not least of all because she preferred pink things.

But then… he stopped calling me Sweet pea because it was the dog’s name. He said it would now always be associated with the dog so it wouldn’t be right to use that as a pet name for me… Even though we haven’t had that dog in at least eight years now.

I don’t care. No other pet names have the same effect as being lovingly called “Sweet pea” in a Texas drawl. I wish he’d start that again.

3 thoughts on “Sweet pea”

Leave a Reply

