memories, nostalgia, teenage years, Uncategorized

Ginnie

I don’t think I have any real memory of my father without his guitar somewhere in the picture – whether he was playing it or whether the heavy duty velvet lined case was propped up in the corner of the room.

It was a steel string that he had had since the seventies – around about the time he first became a Christian. He had hand painted the case – if I recall correctly there was a dove, and perhaps the sacred heart among other things painted on it . Skillfully painted, I had always admired the case. The guitar that lived within had the face of Jesus on the pick guard.

From what I recall him telling me, it was one of the few possessions he would carry around with him as a teen when he couched surfed during a time where he didn’t have a consistent place to live.

When I was a teen – 18 or so I believe – I decided I wanted to finally try to start learning the guitar so my father gave me this old guitar of his. It was decades old, but still in very good condition.

I didn’t get very far with the skill before I got married at 20. Then my husband and I almost immediately had to pack up a small trailer and make our way across several states to move to Louisiana. Unfortunately, the guitar couldn’t make the cut to fit in the trailer with all of our necessities so I left it with my baby sister, (Blogger: Finding Reverie.) The plan was that I would eventually invest in my own guitar and then teach myself properly the way my father had taught himself.

It has taken me over 12 years, but I have finally bought myself a guitar. It is not a fancy one – clearly a cheaper beginners guitar – but it is mine. Finally mine.

As tradition dictates, I decided to name this guitar – to make it personal, to give me additional motivation to create a relationship with it. It is a blue guitar and so I am naming it “Ginnie.”

I know, I know that doesn’t make sense to the majority of you so I’ll explain. In Australia, redheads are often nicknamed “Bluey.” It is supposedly an ironic name that originated around about the 1890s. That being said, it seemed logical to me to name the guitar after a famous redhead. My first thought was naturally “The Weasleys” and with the thought that my guitar is likely female, Ginnie was the next stop in my train of thought. It seemed fitting immediately – especially given that she now resides in a house full of redheads as it is 😉

DSCF4658

Leave a Reply

