Best Friends, Best of, memories, relationships, Uncategorized

Lies

I consider myself to have a high level of integrity. I consider myself an honest person. …Overall. Of course I’ve told a lie or two in my life – we can’t deny that we’ve all done it at some point; even if we left it behind us in our childhood.

Mostly I’ve told minor fibs; white lies if you will.

“I’m fine,” I’ve said when I am really not fine, but I don’t want to talk about it.

“I’m sorry, it’s all my fault,” I’ve said when I know full well it’s not my fault, but I want him to stop raging at me.

“Sorry, I’ve got a boyfriend,” I’ve said when I want some creep to leave me alone at the bar or on the train.

Minor, white lies those… Lies designed to protect myself.

 I try my hardest to tell the truth when it counts. I really do…

However; the biggest lie I’ve ever told was when I told him

“I don’t love you anymore.”

But,  perhaps, I  designed that one to protect myself as well.

3 thoughts on “Lies”

Leave a Reply

