Uncategorized

Eurovision, Bitches!

That time of year has come and passed again. I love watching Eurovision – such a spectacle, and usually I find a handful of songs I wish to continue to listen to even after the show is over.

I usually watch both semi-finals and the final – Svea and Maja only watch the final, but I think that is a mistake as sometimes even very good acts don’t make it through to the final… as was the case this year. My favorite in semi-final 2, Slovenia, didn’t make it through… saaaad. I also missed semi-final 1 this year, so who know what other gems and/or spectacles I missed.

My daughter’s favorite from semi 2, Belgium, made it into the final by a hair. She is six and it was so cute when she saw Belgium’s act and immediately decided she needed to make a flag to wave and set about studying the flag and coloring one out on a sheet of paper. She also added “I Love Belgium” on the middle and we taped a skewer to the side as a handle. She decided we needed to get up to watch the final at 4:30 AM as it aired here in Central Australia – so we did and it was good her favorite showed 1st as she fell asleep by half way… only waking up as results were starting. She was on the edge of her seat and a little bummed at the result… by then my four year old son was awake and he straight up cried that Australia didn’t win (doh! We were SOOOOOOO close!)

Anyway, I won’t go on and on about it all as no doubt there are already masses of articles detailing all the ins and outs of it all or a fair amount of opinion pieces out there… and honestly I had no strong opinions this year. Usually I do and usually I can predict the winner by the end of semi-finals… but… eh. This year I had no strong attachments, but it was still a good show… I mean, OBVIOUSLY, Sweden hosted it after all 😉

 

Post script: I missed semi 1 because it was my friend’s bday… I’ll try to write up a post about that night relatively soon. *crossing fingers I have the motivation.

Leave a Reply

