Poetry escapes me

Late night thoughts. Enjoy ~

 

I am no poet; words of love have no place in my vocabulary

and yet…

Daily his name creeps across my thoughts

Simple.

His name.

Followed imminently by the words “I love him.” Without fail; as if the words are etched in my brain.

I’ve become accustomed to this thought process. Did I start this on purpose? It would feel wrong now to change it…

His name. “I love him.”

Too late to change my mind; it’s become habit… and yet, I have no words of love escape my mouth. It’s also become habit to keep those to myself.

God knows if I let them out, if I let myself become vulnerable ever again, my world could come crashing down around me.

That was a habit I had to break long ago.

So no words of love escape me.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

