Sansa Stark, Uncategorized

As Betty would say: “My People Are Nordic.”

The thing about the new Facebook trend of posting pictures of three characters that represent you is that how the fuck can I choose?

This is actually one FB trend that interests me and I might actually care to join in on… I rarely do the trending things on my FB… I have a ‘not gonna do it if everyone else is doing it’ kind of attitude. I suppose maybe one of my characters would need to represent my stubbornness… Hmmm….

But as EarlGreyorNoWay mentioned – I have wondered with some of my friends if they truly believe the characters they pick actually represent them or if they are simply projecting themselves onto characters they wish would represent them.

I could easily tell you dozens of characters I wish I could be.

But that’s not really the point, is it?

Sansa Stark (Game of Thrones)  is obviously one of my characters. I’ve written about her before as being my spirit animal , my queen, and me being her double. I very clearly relate to her and so that is a no brainer (hey I look just like her! Haha).

a sansa

But what/who else is there? Here are some ideas… Maybe I can whittle them down….

Penny Lane – Almost Famous.

The thing I relate most to the character about is the living in and out of “the real world” – hiding behind a mask and running away from the real world when she can. Using a false name is akin to the hiding behind characters on a stage when I was younger. Smiling though she wants to cry. She was the cool girl that was bubbly and fun on the outside – with her boy(s) – but there is just something hiding just beneath her surface that she won’t let them see.

penny-lane-almost-famous-portable

Katniss Everdeen – Hunger Games

This may be an example of a character I am trying to project myself on… But I chose her because she is guarded and distrustful of other people’s intentions. She distances herself from the men who love her. Yet she is also sincere, shows compassion, and has integrity.

th

Rizzo – Grease

The next option is Rizzo. Another tough girl persona. A girl that has her share of whispers behind her back, a girl who is looked upon as a bad girl; a slut. But as she sings so eloquently:

“There are worse things I could do
than go with a boy or two
Even though the neighbourhood
thinks I’m trashy and no good
I suppose it could be true
but there are worse things I could do
…. ….

I could hurt someone like me,
out of spite or jealousy
I don’t steal and I don’t lie
but I can feel and I can cry
A fact I’ll bet you never knew
but to cry in front of you
That’s the worst thing I could do.”

rizzo

Hermione Granger – Harry Potter Series

Hermione is the smart girl. Studies generally come easy to her, she is intelligent and observant. This side of her relates to me in the way that I graduated Uni with honours. I also have people tell me often that I’m intelligent – even when I don’t feel like I am so much. But Hermione is also fiercely protective of her friends and loyal to her convictions.

And, hey, she loves a red head 😉

thghitno99

Betty Draper/Francis – Mad Men

Betty is a woman that seems indifferent or put out by her family in many ways – i.e she can be inattentive at times. She is emotionally cold and occasionally has temper flares, though deep down she does seem to care for her family. When she was younger she had a future, but as time wears on she becomes a housewife, a mother, she gains weight, she loses control of her personal future and realizes she is dissatisfied with where she ended up in life and dissatisfied with her role in 1960s America. Yet she knows her role and how she must act, especially when it comes to the company of men and societal expectations. Though that attention and care does not always bleed into her personal relationships.

I’d hate to admit it, but I feel like a Betty Draper sometimes. But, hey, as Betty would say: “My people are Nordic.”

women

Kaylee Frye – Firefly

My last one, because honestly I’m tired of brainstorming, is Kaylee from Firefly.

I can’t say I am endlessly cheerful like she is. I mean, look at my previous choice. But I tend to be an optimist. I try to find the good in situations and people – I give people the benefit of the doubt in most cases. I am very hospitable and enjoy meeting new people. I had a friend tell me recently that he always remembered when we were young and he was the new kid in school I walked up to him and introduced myself and made him feel welcome. It’s what I do. Even now I still take newbies under my wing and make them feel welcome as best I can. I know what it’s like to be the newbie… …And again, she is fiercely loyal to her crewmates.

I also like to joke at people’s expense when they are easy marks, especially the boys:

Kaylee: So, when we made love last night…
Simon: When we *what*?
Kaylee: [laughs] You really are such an easy mark.

firefly-kaylee

4 thoughts on “As Betty would say: “My People Are Nordic.””

  1. I am like you in that I generally do not take part in the trends constantly circulating Facebook and other social media sites, but every so often I cannot help but to indulge. This particular trend, I think, is a great opportunity to get involved in some serious self-analysis.
    At any rate, I think this an appropriate way for me to get to know a little about you. Good to meet you, and great post. It’s always a treat when you meet a fellow Firefly fan.
    Have a good evening, and thanks for the link! 😉

    -Sam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries 🙂 I like to give props to other blogs when I get ideas from them – so thanks for the idea! 😉 – or find posts I really enjoy 🙂
      Definitely good for some reflection and analysis – and was kinda fun too! Nice to meet you Sam… Too bad we don’t live near by each other (I assume because I’m out in the middle of nowhere) otherwise we could get together for some Firefly and Earl Grey (Earl Grey is my fave too 😉 ) Haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

