Real Neat Blog Award

Daw, you guys… I’ve met a sweet heart of a blogger from the UK that tends to make me blush, LOL

I don’t know if it’s simply his complimentary nature, or the fact that I can imagine him saying those nice things in a “Mancunian” accent. Haha, I mean… I always have been a sucker for those British boys… Andre was from Manchester himself, and then of course there was Dan.

I shared one of his posts a few days ago, but if you haven’t gotten the chance… Please do go over and visit Paul’s site. Drop him some likes, or better yet – a follow ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, now on to this blog award… It’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these! :

The rules of the Real Neat Blog Award written by the creator of this award are as follows

(Feel free not to act upon them if you donโ€™t have time or if you donโ€™t accept awards)

  1. Put the award logo on your blog.
  2. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  3. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.
  4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
  5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

And his 7 questions are as follows:

  1. If you discovered a new star or planet, what would you call it and why?
  2. If you could live in any period of time and any place in the past, when and where would it be?
  3. Name a famous person whose blog youโ€™d read (living, dead or fictional).
  4. You wake up tomorrow as the opposite sex. What three things would you do?
  5. You have a choice; infinite time, infinite wealth orย infinite knowledge. Which one do you choose and why?
  6. What inspired you to start writing?
  7. What trait do you like the most about yourself?

My Answers:

If you discovered a new star or planet, what would you call it and why?

Is it too vain to say “Rae?” Fuck, of course it is, haha. Actually, right as I typed that I thought of the perfect thing… Ever since High school I have used “Raeavljus” as an internet tag name or in email address. This was an attempt of me to be clever and original… It is three words smushed together: Rae-av-ljus. Rae obviously stands for my name, and “av ljus” are Swedish words that mean “of light.”

So, it is a play on words, essentially. …Which, by happenstance, would be awesome as a Star or especially bright planet name… Fuck it, I’m being vain on this one ๐Ÿ˜‰ Haha

ย If you could live in any period of time and any place in the past, when and where would it be?

This is a bit difficult… When I was a child I was very much into not only history, but drama. I loved dressing up and pretending I was from Ancient Egypt or Rome… or the Victorian era or some such time. I used to think I was made for such a time because I thought I’d love wearing long, poofy dresses and being a lady haha. … I was a kid, shut up! ๐Ÿ˜›

I also thought the 1940s and 50s seemed to elegant and refined, clothing wise at least… and I adored (well, still do) old movies from those eras. Kiss Me Kate, for instance has been one of my favorite movies since I was about 8 years old.

Anyway, as I got older I of course learned more about older medical practices (Oh… Oh God…) and what it was actually like for women in general…. Maybe I would have been lucky to be born rich and not die a street urchin or some shit… but I imagine I’d still be a woman… and I struggle enough with the female issues of today, without having to be completely dependent on men or the kindness of strangers as most were in the past.

Or die in childbirth… damn…

So I’d have to say if I were to live in a different time period than now, I wouldn’t want to go back much past the 60s/70s. Obviously there was still some other women’s issues to deal with, but hopefully I’d live long enough to see it steadily getting better… and, damn, but the medical practices would have been at least less terrifying. For the most part.

Name a famous person whose blog youโ€™d read (living, dead or fictional).

Another thinker… Hmmmm…. Humor wise I would love to be able to read more from Anna Kendrick – her twitter feed is hilarious and it makes me sad when it’s over in 140 characters LOL. Also, of course, Amy Schumer.

Fictional wise, I’d need to keep up with my girl, Sansa Stark and give her all the WordPress love and support ๐Ÿ˜‰

You wake up tomorrow as the opposite sex. What three things would you do?

Take a piss in the back yard… STANDING UP! Duh… Hahaha

Have sex with some hot chick (respectfully and consensually of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) because I’ve always wondered what sex feels like for you guys.

and …hmmm… I dunno… I’m sure I’d be able to figure out some other very male oriented thing to do… I might have to get back to you on #3

You have a choice; infinite time, infinite wealth orย infinite knowledge. Which one do you choose and why?

I would not like infinite time… Living forever sounds like a bore… Though, I do want to live well into old age. I’d have to say infinite wealth, because once you have the wealth you can a) help so many causes that are important to you, and b) afford the travel and schooling that would at least assist you in the pursuit of infinite knowledge.

What inspired you to start writing?

I always liked writing… I did well with it as a youth. I always got good feedback from peers when I shared something, and always got good feedback/grades from teachers – I took advanced placement and honours English in High school – well – the Swedish equivalent of those classes.

But as far as really start writing as far as the books and blog – and more recreationally and less as related to school- it was because one day I decided that I wanted to write my life down so that my kids will know me when I’m gone.

It was meant to be just a project for myself, but friends urged me to publish and when I finally gave in I decided I’d need a blog to help me get the writing out there and help me with working out my ideas.

I found that I enjoyed it so much more than I remembered – it is so cathartic and relaxing for me – and I can’t believe now that I ever let it go by the wayside after school.

What trait do you like the most about yourself?

This is difficult, because I am so critical of myself in general… But I’d say probably my sense of humor… to be fair… I’m freaking hilarious- Haha

Andre did tell me recently that what he remembers about me is that I am someone who gives freely of herself to anyone who needs it. Coach also commented that when we first me in 6th grade, I was the one that made him feel welcome to his new school and he always remembered that. I’ve also had a couple youth boys thank me out of the blue for just “being there”…That amongst other things people have said to me over the years… Probably my heart.

Sometimes I feel like I am the ultimate unfeeling bitch… but then I get reminded that maybe I’ve got a big enough heart and I’m not such a grinch after all ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, blogs to nominate:

I mean… I would have nominated Paul for this, cause he’s awesome…But guess he beat me to it ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, I’ll go with:

Thomas M Watt -because boy has been missing from WordPress for too long now. Get with it boy, yeah yeah you wanna be an EMT… so after school, don’t sleep – WRITE! ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, I know he’d do this if he actually does have the time.

Same to Scorpion Stings – Boy, you’ve been gone too long! Though… at least there’s something in the recent posts on reader, unlike Mr Watt over there…

Next I’d like to nominate Ginger Snaps – I really enjoy her candid accounts of life as a woman in martial arts. Makes me feel like one day, I too, can make it to a higher belt level. Also, she’s a red head. We gots to stick together, us Rangas ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’d also like to nominate the ladies from When I thought I was fat! and fattymccupcakes. As their blog names suggest, I connect with them on a spiritual level… Haha. No, but seriously. They both are very interesting ladies I’ve recently started following.

Ok, now on to the hardest part in my opinion…picking 7 questions….

  1. What is the first thing you look for in the opposite sex?
  2. On the flipside, what is a deal breaker when it comes to the opposite sex?
  3. What is your favorite holiday and why?
  4. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  5. Where is the most interesting place you have ever been?
  6. Where would you travel if you had ALL THE MONEY?
  7. What is the nicest (or a nicest) compliment you’ve ever received?

Okay, have at it! Hope to see your responses… but don’t feel obligated ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll still keep following you even if you don’t ๐Ÿ˜‰

Much Love

Rae

 

27 Comments

Leave a Reply

