Collector of Words

As a followup to yesterday’s post, I would like to share some of my favourite quotes with you… Quotes that I feel have influenced me or stuck with me in some way over the years. Quotes that flow off the page and ultimately the tongue. Words that are like music to my ears.

Unfortunately my journals with quotes I have collected over the years are packed away, so I’m trying to recall as many of my favourites as I can…

They are in no particular order.

“What a journey…what a day…what madness, so much worse than tragic! What to do except dance, dance, only dance…” 

Cutting for Stone, by Abraham Verghese

Empire Records (1995)


“Ordinarily he was insane, but he had lucid moments when he was merely stupid.”  Heinrich Heine


“Even if I knew tomorrow the world would go to pieces, I would still plant my apple tree.” Martin Luther

I am Dina (2002)


“To laugh often and love much; to win the respect of intelligent persons and the affection of children, to earn the approbation of honest critics; to appreciate beauty; to give of one’s self, to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to have played and laughed with enthusiasm and sung with exultation; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived — that is to have succeeded.”  Ralph Waldo Emerson

Dogma (2000)


Disturbing Behaviour (1998)


“I never lie,” I said offhand. “At least not to those I don’t love.” The Vampire Lestat, Anne Rice

Puck, Midsummer Nights Dream


“I didn’t want to be in hell, even for a moment. I sure as hell wasn’t going there just to spit in the face of the Prince of Darkness, whoever he might be!

On the contrary, if I was a damned thing, then let the son of a bitch come for me! Let him tell me why I was mean to suffer. I would truly like to know.

As for oblivion, well, we can wait a little while for that.”
The Vampire Lestat, Anne Rice

tumblr_n4ri3u4yuc1rrqi2zo1_500

A sinner can reform, but stupid is forever – Anonymous 

Almost Famous (2000)

“People always want to know why I do this, why I write such gross stuff. I like to tell them I have the heart of a small boy… and I keep it in a jar on my desk.” Stephan King

Clerks (1994)




All three: Fight Club (1999)


And finally :

Once again… I clearly can’t edit myself and keep a post such as this short… but now I have a question for you: what words do you collect? What are some of your favourite quotes?

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

