memories, nostalgia, Uncategorized

Musty old books

I talked my husband into taking me to the used book stores today – much to his chagrin. I waxed nostalgic a little bit when I saw the stacks of Babysitter’s Club and Sweet Valley High… and Sweet Valley Twins…

I also saw several copies of Ayn Rand’s Anthem – D’oh! How did I forget to add that to yesterday’s list??

Anyway, though we were out all day my husband couldn’t abide the book stores all day – so for HOURS between the two main used book stores in town, we went through antique stores and thrift shops (There are so many in the area… but I promise, now that I’m in Franklin this blog will not become an antiquing blog… Haha.) I do love browsing through Antique stores; though today that wasn’t the mood I was in. It wasn’t torturous, though at least.

I was hoping to find Stephen King’s On Writing, as I mentioned, but was sorely disappointed. Franklin was where I bought my original copy of that book… surely others did too and will donate them at some point, right?

To drown my suffering, I walked out of the stores with these:

img_1390

Fuck you, I don’t have a problem.

I can quit anytime I choose.

I was excited to find another Henning Mankell mystery I don’t have – the one and only one in the stores. I also have read the Hunger Games series about three times, but my physical copies are Swedish for book 1 and Norwegian for books 2 and 3. So it was time to pick up English copies, hey? I have them on Kindle… but what fun is that?

Speaking of; the little old lady, Millie, that owned that particular store raved on about the series and how much she liked it… So I recommended The Legend series by Marie Lu to her. It was strange to talk about dystopian fantasies with a little old lady – but fun to see her light up with the prospect of a new series, haha.

I also picked up a “Making Shapely Fiction” book since I couldn’t get Mr King’s book about writing… Here’s hoping it’s worth it. Aaaand… I don’t really need to describe why I bought all the titles up there.

Anyway, I did find another few treasures in the antique stores… might as well show you a couple of those items as well.

I got those two items and a couple of old hankies… Hankies remind me of my childhood, so every now and then I buy pretty little ones that I say I’m going to use one day – but let’s be real, I usually automatically reach for tissues these days. My daughter has just discovered them and love the idea of them, so I bought her one today too. I also bought her an American Girl series book – the Meet Samantha book. Another set of books I loved as a kid… I had Kirsten, Samantha, Molly, and Felicity series books. Gosh, I really did need a two part series on my favourite books, Haha.

Speaking of books and antiques; I came across a Cherry Ames book… One I already have so I didn’t buy it… but I enjoy collecting her stories as well as the Vicki Barr stories (similar but she’s a Flight Attendant instead of a Nurse.) The Vicki Barr stories are harder to find though – I only have three of those… I have several of Cherry Ames.

The Cherry Ames books were written during wartime and the decades after (1940s-1960s/70s) as a propaganda like tool to get young girls interested in joining the workforce as nurses. Many of the stories have mysteries – much like the Nancy Drew series. Besides the obvious connection to nursing I have, I do enjoy wartime history… These books do it for me on a couple of levels. I only buy original copies; though you can buy newer prints of them online. (While these are for girls, I did not discover them and start collecting them until I was an adult.)

img_1384

I also stumbled across a necklace made with a Norwegian 10 cent coin and a gorgeous stained glass window I had to pinch myself so I wouldn’t just spend money for the sake of it.

One last temptation I had was this sheet music from a thrift shop; thinking perhaps it should be a joke gift for my father. My dad always breaks out suddenly in this song when he either has nothing else to say, or if it is too quiet and frankly I believe he is trying to scare the Bejesus out of everybody. I wish I could accurately describe how he sings it with the additional drama that makes it all the more funny….

img_1387

Fuck… Now I have it stuck in my head… BORN FREE! Free as the wind blooooows; free as the grass grooooows… Born free to follow my Heeeeaaaarrrrtttttt!

HAHA

You’re welcome for that ear worm…

 

13 thoughts on “Musty old books”

  1. I had no idea that John Barry, the man behind the frankly incredible music in the early James Bond movies, had composed Born Free. But now I just want to listen to his James Bond scores. ‘Capsule In Space’ and ‘007 And Counting’ are two of my favourite pieces of music ever.
    As for books, I really need to find the time to start reading again. I’ve been consumed so much with writing instead that I havenโ€™t read anything properly since Sรธren Kierkegaard’s ‘The Seducers Diary’ and that was about a year ago…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear ya, I’ve been more consumed with writing or reading my own writing while editing etc… I’ve been doing some reading, but taking longer than normal to finish any one book in most cases. I need to get a move on with some of my titles that are waiting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve got a bunch of Jean-Paul Sartre books/plays I need to read, Freidrich Nietzcshe’s ‘Thus Spoke Zarathustra’, Dan Brown’s ‘Inferno’, John Grisham’s ‘The Firm’, a few Clive Cussler titles, a fee Stephen Hawking titles…and that’s what I can remember off the top of my head. There’s still a few I want to buy too

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I buy so many books I can’t even remember what’s in my shipment I haven’t read or haven’t finished reading… I know I still have to finish ‘ the 100 year old man who climbed out a window and disappeared’ by Jonas Jonasson and start ‘the girl who saved the king of Sweden’ by the same author. Just recalling that off the top of my head, but I do have a good 20 books I’d say that are awaiting my full attention… geez. Maybe I do have a problem… ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. If the problem is hoarding stuff and never using it then I’m guilty of the same. Not just books. I have DVD’s I havenโ€™t watched, music I haven’t listened to, stories I started writing and never went back to…I probably have shits I only half took that I need to finish too! ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. A picture of Trevor? I’m pretty sure I can rustle one up. I always find myself doodling his face everywhere. People suggest I’m trying to draw Mr Burns from The Simpsons, but it’s honestly not what I was aiming for

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ You can see it more clearly in a very old post where I posted some of my art… but… wonder how easy it would be to find that again… can’t remember what I called it… anyway, I hope you like it! About to see what I can come up with to at least start on part 7 ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

