nostalgia, teenage years, Uncategorized, youth

I know I can make it through

Whatever it takes, I know I can make it through – I’d wager at least anyone much older than me probably won’t get that reference. Hell half of you my age will likely not know it, unless you have teenage kids. Perhaps you’d recall the old school version: There’s a way, if I look then I can win – everybody can succeed, in yourself you must believe, give it a tryyyy… At Degrassi Hiiigggghhh ๐Ÿ™‚

Now that I’ve moved, we have finally gotten our Netflix back. This evening I searched for Degrassi and found that it is severely lacking in every incarnation except for the current “Next Class” show… So that is what I am watching currently.

I actually decided I best search my blog to make sure I hadn’t written about this show before – lo and behold I surprisingly hadn’t before; only mentioning it briefly in yesterday’s post – something I had conveniently forgotten.

As a young teen, Degrassi Jr High/Degrassi High was the edgy show. The show that portrayed real life teen issues using real teens. Something I am sure my parent’s likely would not have approved of me watching at 11 through 13 had they realised I was watching it when it came on after school – they were reruns at that point, only relatively recently having come off the air, and I watched them when Alice Springs only had two TV channels/ I tuned into Imparja whenever I knew it would be on.

Back in the day the show was real kids from the neighborhood, basically, who were not excellent or well trained actors. That didn’t matter to me; however, because to me their emotions were real and exciting and terrifying – through them I learned about teen pregnancy, the danger of drug use, dating abuse, domestic violence, and that children too could have fatal diseases.

As far as I was aware, none of the kids I knew had dealt with any of these issues – now I know that was likely blissful ignorance.

For years certain images remained in my head. The episode where Joey discovers that Rick is being physically abused at home – he goes to the school office asking hypothetical questions and then chickening out – which causes concern and social workers to show up at his home.

I remembered Spike dealing with being a teen mother and Shane jumping off a bridge whilst being high – causing himself a head injury that affected his mental faculties permanently. I remembered Kathleen getting beat up by her boyfriend, Scott. I remembered Snake finding Claude with his brains blown out in the school toilets. I remembered Dwayne in the toilets fighting with Joey and then freaking out, screaming at Joey to get away – lest he come in contact with Dwayne’s HIV infected blood.

It went off the air with a movie – with Joey having “fucked Tessa Campanelli,” and with Snake being the first on Canadian Television to declare “Fuck.” With Wheels – Oh my gosh… Wheels… my first badboy crush – drinking and driving. He killed a toddler and severely injured Lucy.

My parents may not have appreciated me watching such, should they have realised, but I am so glad I did.

I can’t be sure if this show influenced this thought process – but I don’t believe in keeping real world issues from youth. Sheltering them doesn’t help them when they enter the real world themselves.

In 2001 they brought back a new rendition – a new generation of Degrassi kids. I tuned in initially for nostalgia’s sake – because it was set up so that several characters made a return to the show as either full time adult characters or at least to make cameos. Wheels eventually returned having gotten out of jail and made amends with Snake – who had yet to forgive him for what had happened when we last saw him.

Spike’s daughter was now in school… and we followed her closely along with the new generation of kids.

The beauty of the new(er) show is that the production is a lot more professional, the actors are a lot more believable to my now more discerning eye. The beauty of this show is also that there is never ending lessons to be learned – never ending story arcs that continue to showcaseย  hard hitting teen issues. Updating with the times as the case may warrant, but still essentially the same timeless themes.

I love that there have been now almost countless girls that have turned up pregnant over the years that all have handled their cases differently. There have been multiple violent episodes – school shooters, suicidal students – along with multiple kids with serious medical conditions – all dealing with different specific problems and all outcomes being different. Just as real life would be.

I came back to see Spike, Snake, Joey, and Caitlin as the primary returning characters. I cared about the kids in their life as an extension of their characters, but as they faded into the background as their kids grew and left the show, turning over to new kids (Snake is the only one who now remains as he is the current reigning principal) I started to care about all new casts of characters.

My husband thinks I’m weird for continuing to watch a teen drama. I’ve mentioned it to a couple other guys my age as well – they also think I’m a bit silly I think – even though they recalled it from their childhood too.

But for me it’s comforting. In a weird way it’s comforting to stick with something so familiar. It’s also comforting to hear sometimes that “Whatever it takes, I know I can make it through.”

*Image from lovethispic.com

 

15 thoughts on “I know I can make it through”

    1. I did see some of it – a good show that I lost track of and never caught up… wonder if that’s on Netflix… hmmmm… I was working with youth in Australia and tend to connect with them, I wonder if keeping my mind in the youth mindset for so long with these types of shows and movies have helped… even though I’m half behind on pop culture for teens sometimes LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have never been a big tv watcher. but I do remember turning on degrassi a couple times while in high school. I can defintiely relate though to keeping the love for things with the teen/young adult demographic. I really enjoy most YA books. But I fear that I’m getting “OLD” because the last couple I’ve read I kind of just rolled my eyes at. Maybe it is the depression and not oldness. I sure hope so!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes YA can be a little eye roll worthy if they aren’t well done… but it may be the depression too… I’m still into a lot of youth stuff, but again we are getting *ahem* older… and there’s a different culture than was in the 90s too… soooo eye rolls ๐Ÿ™„ totally necessary sometimes ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a Canadian show and made it to Australia – the reruns at least. I just assumed if the colonies were sharing it, the mother country also had it ๐Ÿคฃ but I don’t think
        The original really aired in the US… not sure since I didn’t live here at the time… only the new generations came over here in a big way

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m not aware of any Canadian productions that have made it to TV over here. There have been a few Australian ones. Home and Away and Neighbours are still going. My mum used to watch Young Doctors and Sons and Daughters. Scintillating TV…honest!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

