memories, nostalgia, Uncategorized

Othello has an Iron Jaw; or I kicked him in his Face

As I said: Vladimir was Iago, and John was Othello.

I was so irritated with John because he had only shown up for one rehearsal. I was dreading the show because I was so sure he’d end up fucking it up because I thought he didn’t care. At the last dress rehearsal he was not there again. I called him and screamed at him before throwing my script and storming out of the auditorium. He had apologized, but I was fed up.

I took my theatre seriously.

Eileen, our English teacher, followed me out to check on me. I was still yelling out my frustration. “NO! I’m fucking DONE!”

“Please, Emma, calm down,” Eileen said. “Go to the toilets – wash your face – take your time. It’ll be alright,” she assured me.

I clutched the sink with both hands, head bent down as I tried to focus on deep breathing. I was that frustrated. So I splashed my face, I slowed my heart rate, and I returned to the auditorium still with the conviction that John would let us – me – down.

We had only had one rehearsal with him. In my mind there was no way he’d be able to pull it off in front of the school.

I did not see him again until right before the show. One of the other guys came running and asked if I had seen John yet.

“No… Why?”

“You’ll see,” he said with a grin.

Moments later, John bounded up the stairs headed for the auditorium before turning to see me standing by the stairs. He strode over to me with a big grin spread across his face.

“What the…”

He had shown up with a shaved head and a tattoo drawn on his head with black sharpie – to match the Othello from the 1996 movie. I couldn’t help the smile that crept across my face.

He blew it out of the park. I don’t know if he was actually just that good at remembering lines, or if he had realized he was going to let me down if he didn’t buckle down and do it right.

His lips brushed past mine while I feigned sleep; I won’t deny it was …ummm… not unpleasant. Ha.

“Kill me tomorrow; let me live tonight,” I begged him clutching at my pillow.

“Nay, if you strive – ”

“But – Half an hour!”

He pulled off serious determination effortlessly. “Being done, there is no pause.”

“But while I say one prayer!”

“It is too late…”

…And while on stage, as the story goes, Othello smothers Desdemona with her pillow… and as the story doesn’t say – Desdemona kicked Othello in the face.

I struggled as convincingly as I could – clutching at his arm and trying to put space between us with my legs.

I didn’t realize I had assaulted him until I was told by Maja afterwards; nor did I realize that my blue underthings were especially visible from stage as I was dressed only in a white nightie and my legs were flailing about.

Luckily John thought my assault on his person was and still is hilarious. He has actually apologized to me, with tongue in cheek, for his “iron jaw.”

Ha. Turd… 😉

 

35 thoughts on “Othello has an Iron Jaw; or I kicked him in his Face”

      1. I feel ya only about half my fb world knows about the blog. I have to hide it from a lot of people and warn people with the knowledge of such to keep their traps shut on my page unless it’s a blog post itself (as I customise those views)… pain in the ass but we do what we gotta do 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have to keep it secret because my husband can’t stand the idea of his family and friends knowing I cheated on him once that’s it… I’d freely share everything else but the chance one of that group would come across any reference to “David” is too much for him to bear

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Personally, at this point in my life I could give a rat’s ass… I think it says a lot that we got passed it and didn’t divorce etc etc … and 9 years later are still together. I refuse to be shamed by people over it – and honestly most people that do know irl are impressed with my honesty and the above mentioned lack of divorce… I really wish we could be on the same page and that he didn’t feel the need to restrict me… I wouldn’t have to deal with a pseudonym (not that it’s a very good one) if it weren’t for all this too

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It’s true and I can see where he’s coming from I guess… I just hate feeling caged. I mean, I care how his mum sees me and all that… but his friends I couldn’t care less – except if they actually do judge him over it (he’s worried about everyone’s perception of him, not me, in reality) I would feel bad for him… so here I continue to double up my work to hide it from a whole subset of acquaintances

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol I’m sure she did! That’s what mums are for 😊 Luckily my mum didn’t see this one… she saw Bullets Over Broadway the next year, did a terrible job of videotaping it then my evangelical parents edited it to A) only show clips of me (WTF I co-directed it and adapted the play – the whole thing was me) and then further edited it to take out my “vulgar” lines 🙄 still annoyed about that. But that was a side tangent, sorry… your mum is obviously an awesome mum who loves her adorable singing son lol …wonder if you did a community theatre thing or something nowadays if she’d still say you’re adorable… … lol of course she would

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That whole thing just sounds strange. My mum never edited out anything else of the plays she came to see me in at school. I suppose no normal parent would. Haha. She’s always been very supportive of my endeavours so no doubt she’d support something like that too

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You should totally do it then! Lol if only that I could live vicariously through you… I miss theatre days and never seem to be able to fit it in my life… at least not while my kids are young. Ugh! Still annoyed! And my parents just didn’t get it! I told them to just give me the unedited version because I had told friends that were in the play they could have copies too… but they had been cut out and my dad trashed the original file. Grrrrr. Remind me not to be such a dick to my kids when the time comes lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

