The Versatile Blog Award

This morning I was honoured to receive a nomination for the Versatile Blog Award from Cynt. (Go check out her beautiful female-centric blog 🙂 )

This award didn’t come with many instructions except to write 7 things about myself, and then of course make nominations.

However, the first definition, according to dictionary.com, for Versatile is:

“capable of or adapted for turning easily from one to another of various tasks, fields of endeavor, etc.:

a versatile writer.”
So this is what I’ll be basing my nominations off of at least. Perhaps I’ll make a concerted effort to make my facts versatile as well 😉
That all being said, I am as ever honoured to be recognised by other bloggers – especially those outside of my main “circle” – even as my blog has steadily grown over the past two years, I still am amazed when new people deem my blog worthy of following or simply reading from time to time. Being considered versatile also is a huge compliment in my opinion… sooo Thanks again, Cynt!

So here are my 7 things about me… that maybe… hopefully… I haven’t shared before??? It’s hard when I literally lay my life out for you people on the daily… LOL

  1. Every time I fall out of my eating right/exercising habits it’s Dr Pepper’s fault… Occasionally Wild Cherry Pepsi… but mostly Dr Pepper. …Just one more and I’ll get back on track… Also, usually when I fall off the wagon it’s because of my cycle. Fair enough excuse I’d say. Dr Pepper literally makes me feel better when I’m crampy (AH! forgot the TMI alert! lol) …but hey, caffeine is a natural pain reliever, yo.
  2. I just finished watching/binging on The Almighty Johnsons last night and now my life has no meaning again… Suppose I could write or whatevs instead… siiiiggghhhh 😛
  3. Years ago I worked at Bath and Body Works and was the resident “expert” on the aromatherapy line… in that capacity I once made an over $700 sale on aromatherapy items. Because I’m awesome like that.
  4. On that note, I was one of the few at BBW that would have customers that would only shop when I was there – because they trusted me. I would literally tell them to go elsewhere if I knew what they were looking for wouldn’t be satisfied by our products – especially if I knew what and where to suggest. This caused bigger sales for me down the road because when I did suggest our certain products, they knew I truly believed they would be happy with them. If I wasn’t there, they’d ask my manager when I was next scheduled and come back.
  5. Ok one more BBW anecdote: I also once had a customer leave a card with $100 with my manager for me when I was off shift – because I found her diamond ring, remembered which customer was wearing it and what she had bought – causing me to be able to look up her transaction and get her phone number to contact her. My boss was impressed with not only my dutifulness/attention to detail, but also my honesty… and obviously the customer was very impressed.
  6. My first job was as a Visa Clerk for the American Embassy in Stockholm. Sure beats fast food like many of my friends had as first jobs.
  7. The nickname my parents gave me as a kid was “Rachel Bagel,” yes I’ve always enjoyed a good bagel… but it was more of a couldn’t find anything good to rhyme with Rachel situation. Never really appreciated the half-assed effort lol. If it’s not gonna really rhyme, then think of something else more clever and completely non-rhyming. JEEZ come ON mom and dad!! LOL

Now here are my nominations for this award.  I read these blogs regularly and find them versatile, as stated 🙂  If you have a chance, check them out.

Fuck it, I’m going to put Paul Bailey – my fave blogger here because he does write fiction, real life, zombies to romance, top fives… all sorts and in my opinion it is all to a high standard. I do understand; however, that he is a bit behind with blog awards – so no worries if you don’t want to bother with this one, Paul… Just throwing it out there 😉

Next is Simon Farnell – pretty sure he was one that is blog free? I can’t remember for sure… so again, I don’t expect a followup post from him – but putting it out there because he writes science, engineering, and fiction… while his blog has a primary focus on scientific things, he still rounds it out well by writing other things as well. Check him out.

Kirascribbled writes pretty much entirely creative writing (fiction and poetry) but again – she can range from mythical, supernatural, horror… many, many genres at a highly imaginative standard. Love it.

Another I would like to nominate, that I don’t think I’ve ever nominated before is Strong Language. Probably pretty versatile because there are more than one contributors – not sure if that’s kosher for such an award haha – but still. I find the posts interesting and informative, while of course using plenty of strong language. (The posts are generally history and origins of common offensive words or phrases.)

Another I don’t believe I’ve nominated before is The Gay Stepdad – I am relatively new to following him, but he seems to have quite a bit of personality and hey, he blogs regularly about Eurovision so that gives him huge points with me Haha

Ok ok That’s enough for now. Hope you enjoyed learning just that little bit more about me… and please check out all linked blogs if you haven’t already 🙂

14 Comments

  1. Ok first off, how is Cynt pronounced? Because my brain keeps making it the C word. Really curious.
    Secondly, Thank you so much!
    I will get right on it. Tomorrow. Lol
    Thirdly 700$ in smelly oils is a freakin impressive sale. I must know what type of person spends that much on smells.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the award! I was fascinated by your tales of BBW and your first job. My parents didn’t force me to work in high school because of the magnet program I was in (summer assignments, etc.), so my first true jobs were after I started college. I worked as a tutor in Longwood’s Writing Center for several years. It didn’t pay much, and I had to get used to being paid monthly, but I enjoyed it. I also worked as a teacher’s assistant / floater in a local day care center during the summer of 2009, at home. That job made me not want to have kids for a long time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Have we discussed going to Longwood before?? I recall vaguely touching on that with another blogger before… I went to Longwood in the theatre for all of three weeks before realising it just wasn’t the school for me… my parents never forced me to work, but suggested the summer work because of the really good experience it could get me and how good it would look on my resume etc …and they were right! It was through my parents’ contacts that I got such an awesome first job 🙂 I worked at a daycare in 2006… it was interesting… and exhausting. I was burnt out by the time a year rolled around.

      Like

  3. It’s almost as if I’m just trying to prove the point you made about me on purpose by commenting so late. Haha. I do intend on accepting all awards I’ve been nominated for in one fell swoop in due course.
    Congratulations for yet another well deserved award and very many thanks for nominating me. I think the Versatile Award perhaps sums me up nicely. I like to mix it up as you well know 🙂 There again, it suits you nicely too. Big up da versatile crew!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

