depression, support, Uncategorized

RIP Amy

I’m taking a quick break from Reblogging Emma – nearly finished anyway – to make comment on something…

I just saw this article regarding the lady that started the semi colon movement.

She was a Wisconsinite whose influence reached around the world. I personally have at least 4 friends in Australia that received semi colon tattoos due to her movement.

I’m sure the majority of you know of which movement I speak… the one that let people know that a semi colon is used when an author could have ended a sentence, but chose not to. Just as any given person with depression could have ended their life, but chose not to.

Unfortunately, Amy lost her battle with depression at a younger age than I am… it goes to show even leaders of movements and inspirational people can’t always win against all odds.

My condolences go out to her friends and family. I hope that her memory and her voice live on for an exceptionally long time.

5 thoughts on “RIP Amy”

  1. I read about her this morning. Its sad that someone who helped so many people succumbed to her own struggle with her feelings. I hope that she will continue to be a positive example for those who are fighting their own battle against depression and that her movement will continue on and help many more people.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

